Way back when I was collecting comics….

In 1983 I was dreaming about the comics I could only read about in Comics Scene magazine. It was the first magazine I had seen that covered comic books in such depth and seriousness as a “real” magazine. I discovered a lot of the comics and artists that I have enjoyed and have influenced my own work through this magazine.

But it wouldn’t last….the first run of Comics Scene ran 11 issues, and without any idea when it would reappear I quickly forgot about it.

I had entered a contest in one of the issues to win a Spider-man prize package….I am not sure of the exact details of the contest.

To my surprise, about a year later this showed up in my mailbox.

I must have read Star Raiders about a million times and have a few copies on my shelf, including my original.

About dobidy

Animation and Illustration Artist View all posts by dobidy

Leave a Reply

