The Discovery Train Programme 1978


One of the weirdest things I experienced as a child was the The Discovery Train Programme. During the summer of the late ’70’s The National Museums of Canada put trains loaded with Canadian culture on tour.
I can’t remember how many times we saw the Discovery Train, it could only have been once, but it did have a direct effect on my current occupation. They had an afternoon of NFB animated films onboard for anyone to see.
One of the non-animation films they showed was “Paddle to the Sea”. That one has haunted my dreams for years! http://www.nfb.ca/collection/films/fiche/?id=10584
According to the Freedom Train website the trains were appropriated from the American Freedom Train program. The Freedom Train ran from the 40’s to the 70’s. More can be found on their website. http://www.freedomtrain.org/html/whereabouts.htm
About dobidy

Animation and Illustration Artist View all posts by dobidy

2 responses to “The Discovery Train Programme 1978

  • Rich Dannys

    I don’t remember the Discovery Train Program, myself.. I doubt it made a stopover in Scarborough! hahaI have the same strong memories of the “Paddle To The Sea” NFB film, though.. One of their very best. Along with Buster Keaton in “The RailRodder”..

  • Percy Pernell

    Yeah…..I think it stopped in a lot of rural areas….of which Fort Frances is probably the most rural you can get. My Grandfather used to walk me over to the Fort Frances train station and watch the trains.

Leave a Reply

